Forbidden Journey, 2

c0940ba3-0089-4f62-b6bc-5967cf1b2e28-1520-000001dd5c709ae4_tmp

Dr. Chee’s Meet and Greet

The young woman in a sleeveless cream dress stepped forward and extended her hand to Dr. Chee. “Elisabeth Grey.” She indicated the bearded man in his forties beside her. “This is my father, Samuel Grey, assistant to the British ambassador.”

‪“Delighted to meet you, Ms. Grey, and you, sir. Please, allow my daughter to attach a raffle token.” Dr. Chee nodded; Mingzhu pinned a silver disc upon Elisabeth’s shoulder.

“Your dress—how beautiful? Later, we must talk,” said Mingzhu and she giggled, friendly-like. The camera’s flashbulb thumped.

“And you are?” enquired Dr. Chee.

“Byron de Prorok, author, archaeologist, visiting your beautiful country. What a fantastic place you have here, Dr. Chee.” de Prorok shook the hosts hand in a double grip as he looked through the crowd for a familiar face.

‪Dr. Chee’s handshake felt limp, as one would expect from a race unused to this type of greeting, but his palm was moist, too.

“Mr. de Prorok, thank you for your kind words.” Dr. Chee nodded to Mingzhu. “Please, allow my daughter to attach a raffle token.” She pinned a silver disc upon Byron’s shoulder. The camera’s flashbulb thumped.

“I am Dr. Chee, your host. May I introduce you to my daughters, Mingzhu and Chunhua.” He proffered his hand. “Welcome, and enjoy the evening. And you are?”

“Why, good sir,” the bespectacled gentleman bowed slightly so as confer respect for his host, and followed it with an awkward handshake, “I am Dr. Henry Renwick, recently working on the archaeological dig at Zhoukoudian under the late Dr. Black. I must say that I have fallen quite under the spell of your beautiful country.”

“China’s earth is a veritable treasure trove for the anthropologist. I have had the pleasure of meeting Pei Wenzhong, Dr. Renwick, a colleague of Dr. Black’s.” Dr. Chee nodded to Mingzhu. “Please, allow my daughter to attach a raffle token.” Mingzhu pinned a silver disc opon Henry’s shoulder. The camera’s flashbulb thumped.

“I am Dr. Chee, your host. May I introduce you to my daughters, Mingzhu and Chunhua.” He proffered his hand. “Welcome, and enjoy the evening. And you are?”

One thought on “Forbidden Journey, 2

Leave a Reply

